Josephine

grass rolls/牧草ロール

We planned our four days and three nights return-home trip in May. The only but very important consideration was Nyanku. Making a trip with her was not a possibility. A cat, especially our Nyanku, doesn’t like a trip. So, we discussed a cat sitter service. Searching Web “cat sitter”, I found several services around our apartment building. I send a e-mail to one of them and asked an estimate. The return-mail came in a few days. The fee was reasonable and the woman, who would provide the service, looked like a kind people, I thought. But my husband was worried that an unknown person would come in during our absence. So, I visit our veterinary hospital and had a talk. I was told that the vet can keep our cat during our absence, but for a cat a sitter service is better. I thought so, too. Then I visit a pet food store where I always buy foods and snacks for Nyanku. The shop owner is kind. I’ve dropped by and had a chat with her since last September when I moved in. When I asked her if she knew a nice cat sitter service, she said “I can go, I am licensed as an animal sitter.” I was very very delighted.

3泊4日で帰省しようと決めたのは5月でした。帰省にあたって、唯一のしかしものすごく重大な心配事はにゃんくのことでした。にゃんくを連れて行くというのは、問題外です。ネコというものは、特にうちの超ビビリンボのにゃんくは、旅行なんて大嫌いな生き物だから(たぶん)。それで、ネコシッターさんを頼もうということになりました。ネットで検索すると、うちの地域にもネコシッターサービスをしてくれる人が何人かいることが分かりました。そのうちの1人にメールをして見積もりをお願いしてみると、数日でお返事をくれました。料金もたぶん妥当だし、メールの感じではいい人のような気がしました。が。オットが、知らない人が留守の間に部屋の中に入るって心配だ、と言い出しました(ネットに名前とか連絡先を公開している人なんだし、大丈夫なような気がするけど、そうかもしれない。。。)。そこで、お世話になっている獣医さんに行って相談してみました。その獣医さんでは、人間が留守の間にペットを預かってくれるのですが、ネコちゃんはきっと普段の環境でお留守番するほうがいいだろうからネコシッターのほうがいいんじゃないか、と言われました。そうですよね。で、その次に、いつもにゃんくのカリカリとおやつを買っている近所のペットフード屋さんに行きました。そのお店のオーナーは、気さくな親切な女の人です。私は、去年の9月にこの辺りに引っ越してきてから、このお店に寄ってはおしゃべりするようになっていたのでした。私が「知り合いのネコシッターさんを紹介してもらえませんか」と聞くと、なんとそのオーナーのYさんが「私が行ってあげるよ。資格も持ってるよ。」と言ってくれたのです。おおお、うれしかったのは言うまでもありません。

mini tomatoes/プチトマトAfter one or two weeks we have a chat about a sitter service, I invited the owner Y-san into our apartment. Nyanku hid in the closet as usual though, we talked over a cup of tea. Y-san knew well neighborhood cats situations. She also knew about the situation around my ex-apartment. According to her, there is a mother cat named Josephine near my ex-apartment. People who take care of street cats call Josephine and her children as Josephine family. And to my surprise, Y-san has one of Josephine’s sons named Rintaro. We checked his photo. Rintaro and Nyanku are alike, we thought. I was somehow relieved to know that Nyanku may be not all alone. After Y-san went home, I talked to Nyanku, who appeared from the closet, “Are you from Josephine family? Your mother is Josephine, isn’t she?” Nyanku looked up me as if she wanted to say something, and mewed. Her answer might be “yes”, “no”, or “I don’t know.” I was very sorry that I could not understand her mew.

という話をしてから1週間か2週間後に、Yさんにうちにきてもらいました。にゃんくはいつものように押入れに隠れてしまいましたが、Yさんとお茶しながらおしゃべりしました。Yさんは、ペットフード屋さんだけあって、近所のネコ事情に詳しく、引っ越し前に私たちが住んでいた地域のネコ事情も知っていました。Yさんによると、前に私たちが住んでいたマンションの近所には、ジョゼフィーヌという母さんネコがいて、外猫にご飯をあげている人たちの間では、そのあたりのネコはジョゼフィーヌ一族と呼ばれているのでした。そしてなんと、Yさんはジョゼフィーヌの息子を1匹飼っていることが分かりました。その息子の名はりんたろう。私たちはりんたろうの写真をよくよく見て、りんたろうとにゃんくは顔が似ているような気がする、と結論付けました。私は、にゃんくが全くの天涯孤独じゃないことを知って、なぜだかほっとしました。Yさんが帰った後、押入れから出てきたにゃんくに「にゃんくはジョゼフィーヌ一族の出身なの?にゃんくのお母さんはジョゼフィーヌって言うの?」と訊いてみました。にゃんくはもの言いたげな表情で私を見上げて、ニャーとお返事してくれました。あのニャーは、イエスなのかノーなのか、それとも「そんなこと知らない」だったのか。ああ、ネコ語が分からなくてホント残念。

コメントを残す

