Good Coffee

I tried the coffee shop that I’ve checked since our moving. The shop sells coffee beans. There are always some shoppers every time I peep. When I came in, the strong coffee aroma filled the shop. Beans on sale are greens. They roast beans according to shoppers’ taste, the owner explained. I honestly answered “I don’t know”. My only taste is unsoured. There is no soured coffee beans. The way to roast decides soured or unsoured, he taught. And I bought a recommended beans.

This summer, I read a comic “Shiro-kuma cafe” in which a polar bear (shiro-kuma) runs a cafe. In the story, squirrels roast coffee beans. So, I cannot stop thinking that the owner and an assistant look like squirrels. The squirrel-like assistant, who roasted beans wave after wave, made unsoured coffee for me. Thank you.

引っ越してからずっと気になっていたコーヒー屋さんに行ってみました。そこは喫茶店というよりはコーヒー豆屋さんで、ちらりとのぞくといつも何人もお客さんがいます。入ってみると、むせかえるようなコーヒーの香りで満ちていました。でも、置いてある豆は緑色。お店のご主人が、お客さんの好みに合わせて豆を焙煎しますと説明してくれました。私は正直に「よくわからないけど、酸っぱくないのがいい」と答えました。そしたら、たぶんコーヒーを愛してやまないご主人は「酸っぱいコーヒー豆というのはないんです。酸っぱいか酸っぱくないかは焙煎で決めるんです。」と教えてくれました。ほー、なるほど。なるほどだけどよくわかんないので「本日のおすすめ」の 1 つを買うことにしました。

この夏、『しろくまカフェ』を読みました。この中ではエゾリスさんたちがコーヒーを焙煎しているでしょう(や、豆を仕分けてるだけだったかしら)? だから、お店のオーナーともう一人の店員の男の子がリスに似ていると思うことを止められなかった私です。その、たぶん違うけどリスに似ている店員さんは、次から次へとひたすら豆を焙煎していましたが、私にも「酸っぱくない」コーヒーを作ってくれました。ありがとう。

At the shop, shoppers wait for their coffee drinking a cup of coffee and sitting a same table. I had a chat with a woman. She said my cardigan was nice. I wore the simple A-line cardigan knitted with the avril yarns. I replyed “this pattern is simple and easy.” She smiled gently. My reply was not appropriate for a chat with a non-knitter, wasn’t it? Ah… Anyway the coffee is good.

このお店で買い物する人は、出されたコーヒーをすすりつつ同じテーブルを囲んで自分の豆がコーヒーになるのを待ちます。その間、一人の女の人とおしゃべりしました。私は 2 年ぐらい前にアヴリルの糸で編んだカーディガン(下田直子のかんたんニット)を着ていたのですが、その方は、それをほめてくれたんですね。で、私ときたら「このパターン、簡単で編みやすいんですよー」とか説明しちゃったんです。後から考えると、そういうちょっとしたおしゃべりの場で、編み物しない人に対してこの応答はなかったんじゃないかなぁ。ああ、失敗。ま、コーヒー美味しかったんでよしとしますか。

2件のコメント on “Good Coffee”

  1. のらねこ より:

    こんばんはー!寒くなってきましたね。
    でもカーデに声をかけてきてくれたのなら「目利き」と見た!
    少なくとも編みものに興味がある人(若しくはほぼ日ユーザー、笑)
    めげずに布教活動しましょう!
    (同僚に「目薬ポーチ・でっかい版」を布教中)

    • paopao1017 より:

      北国の人には笑われちゃいそうだけど今日は寒いですねー。
      そうか! 「布教」ですもんね。反応が薄いとめげるけどがんばるわ。
      (「でっかい版」になったらすでに「目薬」ポーチではな…?)


コメントを残す

