Rainbow Colors

hydrangea faded/色あせたアジサイWhen I was a chile, I somehow believed that hydrangea flowers change their color like a rainbow; from red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, to violet. I wanted to see all colors, but in my home’s yard, hydrangea flowers were always violet or pale blue. I was very sorry that I missed other colors. In those days, my mother burned flammable trash in the yard. Flammable trash included leaves and flowers. I loved watching fires near my mother. One day, my mother burned dead hydrangea flowers, and I watched; the flowers burned in rainbow colors. I was realy satisfied. The flowers usually hide their true colors, and they reveal their real colors when burning, I thought. My memory about hydrangea was period.

Yesterday, I went my father’s home, and cut dead hydrangea flowers. Now, I know hydrangea color depends on the acidity in the soil, and a fire changes its color by its temperature. Although that, I was tempted to burn them and check the colors. They may burn like a rainbow.

子供のころ、どういうわけだか、アジサイの花は七色に変わると信じていました。七色というのは、あれですね、赤、橙、黄、緑、青、藍、紫の虹の色。私は、アジサイの季節になると、今年こそは全部の色を見たいと思ったものです。しかし、うちの庭に咲くアジサイはいつ見ても紫とか水色でした。あー、今年も他の色を見逃しちゃったなーと残念に思いこそすれ、七色っていうのがそもそも間違っているかもとは思わなかった私。アホです。当時(昭和です)、実家では燃えるごみは庭で燃やしていました。私は、ちょっとした火遊び気分で、その火を眺めるのが好きでした。燃えるごみには、枯れ葉とか花がらも含まれていたのですが、ある日、母が枯れたアジサイの花を燃やしました。で、私は見たのです。アジサイの花がくっきりはっきりと虹色に変化しながら燃え尽きる様子を。そして、アジサイというのは普段は本当の色を見せないけれど、その花の中にはやっぱり七色の色が入っていて、燃えるときには本当の色が見えるものなのだと納得したのでした。私のアジサイに関する記憶はこれで終わっています。納得したときの「ふむふむ」という感じを今でも思い出せるので、とてもとても満足したのでしょう。

時は流れて昨日は、実家に行って、庭仕事をしてアジサイの花がらを刈り取りました。今では私も、アジサイの色というのは土の酸性度によって変わるものだとか(たぶん)、炎の色はその温度によって変化するものだ(たぶん)ということを知っています。それでも、やっぱりアジサイの花を見ると燃やしてみたいという衝動にかられます。虹色に変化しつつ燃えていくかも。火の色がくっきりと七色に変わったと思ったのだって幻覚かもしれないし、幼い日の美しい思い出じゃなくて、何らかのビョーキだったらどうしようと思いつつもどうしても。

2件のコメント on “Rainbow Colors”

  1. のらねこ より:

    最近は昔ながらのこんもりまんまるしたアジサイではなく
    変わり種を多く見かけます。
    カシワバアジサイなんて、もうアジサイじゃないような気も…
    暑くなってきましたねー!

    • paopao1017 より:

      ほんとに暑くなりましたねー。
      カシワバアジサイ、見てきました。
      こ、これは、、、私の中では「アジサイ」とは思われていなかった。サルビア??
      ガクアジサイもあの真ん中のところはなんで咲かないんでしょうね。エコ?


コメントを残す

