Haste Makes Waste

too narrow neck/首周り、小さすぎI am now hastily working on the striped girly top project. Because I got new yarns and want to knit something new with them. Last night, I had almost done the neck shaping. But … the pattern says the final number of sts is 138 though, my remaining sts was about 40. I misread the instructions. I was very disappointed. Why did I note the error in knitting? Haste makes waste.

新しい糸を入手すると、その糸を使って新しいものを編みたくなるものです。それで、編みかけだったシマシマ・ガーリートップを急いで仕上げてしまおうとしています。昨日の夜、もう少しで襟ぐりが出来上がるところで編み目を数えてみたら、パターンでは 138 目残るとされているポイントなのに、40 目ぐらいしかありませんでした。減らし目のところを読み間違えました。がっくり。なんで途中で気付かなかったんだろう。急いては事をし損じる、というやつです。「急いては事をし損じる」は英語では “Haste makes waste.” というそうです。ひとつお勉強になりました。ああ、ほどくのかぁ。。。

コメントを残す

