Pink and Red

stripe wear for me/私のしましまトップRowan Wool Cotton (957)Do you remember that I got cotton yarns in Kichijoji? With those yarns I intended to knit something for my friend’s daughter. After that, I e-mailed my friend several times. My friend wants a buttoned vest for her daughter S. At first we chose pink because S likes pink. But, when my friend asked S if S wants a pink vest, S replied “speaking of a hand-knitted vest, the color is red!” My friend guessed that S chooses red because the mouse in her favorite story book wears a red hand-knitted vest by mother mouse. A child is unpredictable. So I will knit a red buttoned vest.

Actually I was slightly glad to hear that S chose red. Because a swatch with the pink yarn from Sheep-Meadow is VERY beautiful. I looked attractive my own wear with those yarns. The yarns are thin and may not be fit for children wear, I think. While waiting for new red yarns, I started a stripe project for myself with those yarns. The pattern is “Girly Top” by Ram Wools Yarn Co-op from ravelry. I want a easier fit pattern though, the yarns may not be enough. I will lenghten the body.

The new red yarns arrived yesterday. The yarn is Rowan Wool Cotton, color number 957. The color is lavish red as its name suggests. I love it. May a child prefer color number 911? I wonder if S will like it. If not, I will knit with another red. For now, I will start.

ねずみくんのチョッキ (ねずみくんの絵本 1)
ねずみくんのチョッキ (ねずみくんの絵本 1)

posted with amazlet at 12.03.07
なかえ よしを
ポプラ社
売り上げランキング: 13307

先日吉祥寺でコットンの糸を入手しましたが、あれは、友だちの娘ちゃん(S ちゃん)に何か編もうと思って買いました。あの後、友だちと相談して、前開きのちゃんちゃんこみたいなベストを作ることにしました(友だち希望)。で、私たちは当然、色は S ちゃんの好きなピンクになるだろうと思っていました。でも、念のために友だちが色はピンクでいいよねと確認したところ、S ちゃんは「手編みのベストといえば赤に決まってるでしょ。」ときっぱりと答えたそうです・・・かしこまりました。友だちは、S ちゃんの好きな『ねずみくんのチョッキ』という絵本の中で、ねずみくんがおかあさんの編んでくれた赤いベストを着ているから赤なんだろうと推測していました。お子さまって、おもしろいわ~。そんなわけで、赤い前開きのちゃんちゃんこベストを編むことになりました。

実は、S ちゃんが赤を選んでくれて、ちょっとうれしかったりします。というのは、ピンクの糸でスワッチを編んでいたのですが、なんだかとっても綺麗な色で、むらむらと自分のものにしたいという欲望がわいていたのでした。だいたいあの糸は細くて子供ウェアには向いてない感じだし(言い訳)。新しく赤い糸を注文している間に、自分用のしましまプロジェクトを開始しました。パターンはラベリで見つけた “Girly Top”。ガールじゃないけど、ガーリートップです。もうちょっとゆったりしたデザインのほうがいいのですが、糸が足りるかどうか不安なので、このパターンを選びました。身頃は少し長くする予定です。

昨日、注文していた赤い糸が届きました。ローワンのウール コットンで、色番は957。色の名前は “Lavish”。辞書でひくと「豊富な」とか「豪華な」という意味でした。その名のとおり、深ーい、落ち着いた赤です。お子さまは、色番911のほうが好みかもしれない。S ちゃんに確認したほうがいいような気もする。気もするけど、もし気に入らなかったら、また別の色で編むことにしよう。とりあえず、おばちゃん、はじめるからね。

2件のコメント on “Pink and Red”

  1. のらねこ より:

    こんばんは〜。
    paopaoちゃん(いつの間に「ちゃん」?)
    承認おりたよっ!
    きゃ〜っ!いらっしゃいませっ!♪


コメントを残す

