Chocolate Box

a piece of chocolate cake/チョコレートケーキYesterday was Saint Valentine’s Day. In Japan, women give chocolate to the men who they love on the day. We Japanese don’t know about Saint Valentine very much. We are manipulated by chocolate makers. In these days, not only women but men give something to whom they keep friends with.

My husband does not like sweet very much. For us, I can buy special chocolate which I want to eat for the day. Last month, when I went to a beauty shop, I’ve read about a nice chocolate gift box in a magazine. I decided to get the box this year and checked the shop. On February, I could not remember the shop name. I remembered the magazine name only. It was CREA that featured gifts, titled “the bible of gifts”. I searched it on the internet and book stores but could not get the information about the gift nor the magazine itself. In the meantime, I became busy and forgot the chocolate box and the Saint Valentine’s Day suddenly came. The photo is a piece of chocolate cake that I got at the neighborhood sweet shop. Our Saint Valentine’s Day was over. While I cannot give up that nice beautiful chocolate box. Will I get a haircut early?

昨日はバレンタインデーでしたね。昔は、女の子が好きな男の子にチョコレートをあげる日でしたが、最近は男女を問わず親しくしている人に何かをあげる日になっていっているみたいですね。私たち、バレンタインさんのことよく知らないしね。

我が家にはもう”女の子”も”男の子”もいないし、オットは甘いものがそんなに好きじゃないので、うちではバレンタインデーは、私が、自分の食べたい、普段買わないようなお高いチョコレートを買ってもいい日になっています。先月、美容院に行ったときに雑誌で素敵なチョコレートボックスを見つけました。仕切りのない箱に個別包装じゃないけどいろんな種類のチョコレートがどっさり入っているの。なんて素敵なんでしょう、これは是非今年のバレンタインに買いましょうと思って、早速お店の名前をチェックしました。そして2月。お店の名前を思い出せません。点々の付くカタカナが入っていたんだけど、そんな情報何の役にも立たない。クレアの『贈り物バイブル』だったので、その情報だけで調べられないかなーとネットで検索してみましたが、私の記憶にある素敵なチョコレートボックスはヒットせず、近所の本屋さんに行けども、数ヶ月前の雑誌は入手できず。そんなことをしているうちに仕事が忙しくなり、チョコレートのことは忘却。そして、バレンタインデーは昨日突然やってきたのでした。写真は近所のケーキ屋さんで買ったチョコレートケーキです。我が家のバレンタインデーはこれにて終了。うーん、しかしあのチョコレートボックスはあきらめ難い。いつもより早めに髪を切りに行こうかしら。

コメントを残す

