Being an Adult

one-ball Shiny Fur/シャイニーファー1玉分I want to make the cowl for my sister in law by Christmas. So I hastily casted on with Shiny Fur yarn. The photo is one-ball knitting. The number of sts is 52. The first and the last st is garter knitted. Others are stock knitted. The length is about 21cm.

義妹のきらきらスヌードは、せっかくなのでクリスマスに間に合わせたいと思い、焦って編み始めました。写真はシャイニーファー1玉分です。作り目は52目。最初と最後の1目はガーター編み、残りはメリヤス編みしています。1玉分でだいたい21cmぐらい編めました。

My mother used to do machine-knitting. She often used glittering yarns. My mother and her firiends happily said “How gorgeous!” At that time, I was young and cannot understand them. I thought “you all adults are unstylish. I hate such lame knittings.” Years and years passed and I became an adult. Now I love Shiny Fur weaving. How beautiful that sparkle is!

私の母は機械編みをする人だったのですが、よくラメの入ったキラキラした糸を使っていました。で、母と母の友人たちは楽しそうに、「まぁー、やっぱり豪華だわ~。」とか言い合うわけです。当時若い女の子だった私は、そんなおばさんたちを見て、『おばさんたち、ださーい。そんなギラギラな服なんか着れなーい』とか思っていました。あれから月日は流れ、私も立派なおばさんになりました。シャイニーファーのきらきら、いいわ~、しびれます。

コメントを残す

