Best Before

from England/えげれす土産(いただきもの)The sleeves of the basic cardigan were finally completed. I will have to block the sleeves and body parts, sew up them, knit the collar, sew it closed, and attach bottuns. The goal is still far away. But I can see it. Cheer me up!
By the way, I went to see my father today. I found a foreign-made jam jar and shortbread on his dining table. They are souvenir of a neighbor who travelled England. We chatted about them for a while. Then suddenly my father said “Best Before! Oh, I can understand!” After a moment, I also said “Oh! I see. Best Before!!” At that moment, we got new vocabulary.
From now, I can ask a seller how long a food is in good condition, when going abroad. I would say “Best Before Until When. Can you understand my English?

best before/賞味期限~ついにカーディガンの袖が編み上がりました。あとは、袖と身頃をブロッキングして、綴じはぎして、襟を編んで、襟をとじ付けて(二重にする襟なのです)、ボタンをつけるだけ。道のりはまだ遠いけど、ゴールが小さく見えてきた感じです。がんばるぞー。
ところで、今日は実家の父のところに顔を出してきました。そうしたら、食卓の上に見慣れぬ舶来のジャムの瓶とクッキーを発見。ご近所さんのえげれす土産なんだそうです。このお土産についてちょっとしゃべっていたところ、父が唐突に、「べすとびふぉあーだって。へー。俺分かっちゃった。」などと言い出しました。私は一瞬、??となりましたが、「おー、なるほどー。べすとびふぉあーかー。」と納得しました。クッキーのパッケージを眺めていて、英語では賞味期限のことを “best before” と言うことに気付いたのです。ボキャブラリーが増えた瞬間でした。
これで、海外旅行に行った時にお店の人に賞味期限はいつですかって質問できるような気がします。英作文の練習はしてるけど英会話はからきしダメなので(脳に瞬発力がない)、”Best Before Until When?” みたいなおかしな言い方になると予想されますが。これって通じるかなぁ。

2件のコメント on “Best Before”

  1. GAEA73 より:

    べすと びふぉあ~~~~
    長らく留守をしておりました。ただ今Paopaoさんちのバックナンバーを徘徊ちうです。
    『どれくらい持ちますか?』はHow long would it last?かおっしゃる通り、Best Before を使って箱に包装されているものだったら「Where is best before date?賞味期限はどこに書いてあるの?」
    と聞けますよ。

    Best Before Until When?” でも通じます、通じます。

    ちなみに「この日までに売って、」というSell By dateというものもあります。


コメントを残す

