Hard Work?

6 months passed after the earthquake/震災半年後の空I took the photo yesterday hoping that this is the last summer cloud this year. My hope fades away. It’s hot today, too. The back part of the basic cardigan was completed. I learned form the last project to count numbers of rows in order to match the back and front length. I’m placing markers on every 10 rows. There are 104 rows for back (15 inches), 66 rows for armhole (9.5 inches), and 6 rows for shoulder and neck.

昨日、今年最後の夏の雲になってくれ!と祈りながらこの空の写真を撮りましたが、私の祈りが聞き届けれらることはなく、今日も暑いです。ベーシックカーディガンの後ろ身頃ができました。去年編んだときに、前後の身ごろの長さを合わせるにはやっぱり段数を数えたほうがいいということを学んだので、今回は10段おきに段数リングを使ってちゃんと数えています。脇の下まで104段(15インチ)、脇ぐりから上66段(9.5インチ)、肩の段差に6段でした。

back part/後ろ身ごろI met one of my old colleagues last week. We told about weblogs. I told him that I’m writing a weblog about knitting. He is off course not interested in knitting and asked me how many times I make motions with my hand for a single wear. I thought the basic cardigan cated on 104 sts and answered over 10 thousands times for a back part. I didn’t know he knew the word “back part” though, he said that it’s pretty hard. Non-knitting people think how many times to make motions. You are weird, I thought. But perhaps he thought it’s weird of me to like that hard work. We are different kinds.

そういえば。先週、昔の会社の後輩君に会ったときに、ブログの話になって、私が編み物ブログやってるんだーといったところ、一着編むのに何回ぐらい手を動かすのかと訊かれました。私はいま編んでるカーディガンは104目あるから…と考えて、後ろ身頃だけでも10000回以上だねーと答えました。後ろ身頃ってどの部分なのかを後輩君が分かっていたかどうかは知りませんが、そりゃ苦役ですねと言われました。編み物しない人はこれだから。手を動かす回数数えるなんて変でしょー、と私は思いましたが、彼は彼で、そんな苦役を趣味にするなんておかしな人だと思ったことでしょう。編み物をする人としない人の間には深ーい川が流れていますね。

2件のコメント on “Hard Work?”

  1. のらねこ より:

    いやいや、今日も暑かった…(笑)
    編みあがる日数を聞かれる事はあったけど
    手を動かす回数は聞かれた事がない…
    それは何の目安にもならないよね〜。
    解いて編み直す回数も入るし…(爆)
    (今↑書いてて、ふと思ったんですけど…
     思い返せば、最初から何だかすっかり慣れ慣れ口調ですよね、私…
     すみません、昔からの身内みたいにタメグチで)

    • paopao1017 より:

      のらねこさん
      いえいえ、私もなんのためらいもなくのらねこさんンタメグチたたいてます。
      すっかりお友だち感覚ですもの。ネットって不思議ですね(いまさら?!)。

      私も手を動かす回数なんて考えたことなかった。
      実際に数えてみると、私たちアミモノ族って根気ありますよね。


コメントを残す

