Yarn Ends

motifs in flat/並べてきましたmotifs in piles/重ねてみましたWaiting for healing the right elbow, I have crochetted motifs bit by bit. I had never made many motifs for a big project. Several years ago, one of my friends showed me many motifs for a blanket. They are colorful and cute but not weaven in any yarn ends. I could easily imagined that she had happily made these motifs but … how would be the finishing phase? … And later, she told me that she took loooooong time to finish her blanket. I can perfectly understand her. Making colorful motifs is fun, but weaving in yarn ends is boredom. The more motifs are colorful, the many yarn ends are. Now the think-of-japan-while-knitting project doesn’t have much time. I persuaded myself to weave in yarn ends each time changing colors. That was not so hard than I expected. “You should weave in yarn ends every time.” I leaned. I don’t know when, but I hope to make coloful bed covers, someday.

痛いひじが治るのを待ちつつ、少しずつモチーフを編んでいました。いままで、モチーフつなぎで何かを作ろうと思ったことは一度もありません。何年か前、友だちがたっくさんの小さいモチーフを見せてくれたことがあります。ひざかけにするんだとか言って。モチーフは色鮮やかでとってもかわいかったのですが、まーったく糸始末がされていませんでした。その友だちが楽しーくモチーフを作っていった様子が目に浮かびました。しかしね、友よ、仕上げはどうするのさ?案の定、仕上げにはものすごく時間がかかったそうです(たしか2年ぐらい)。友だちの気持ちはよぉく分かります。カラフルなモチーフを編んでいくのは楽しい。でも糸始末はメンドクサイ。モチーフがカラフルであればあるほど、始末すべき糸は多いし。とはいえ、今回のプロジェクトは時間が限られています。だから私は自分によぉく言い聞かせて、色を変えるたびに糸始末をしました。毎回ちゃんと糸始末すれば、意外とつらくはなかいんですね。「糸始末は毎回やるべし。」モチーフ編みの基本を1つ身につけました。いつになるか分からないけど、いつかベッドカバーとか超大物に挑戦したいな。

4件のコメント on “Yarn Ends”

  1. Miho より:

    なんて可愛いモチーフさんたち!
    糸始末はなんであれ苦手、というか苦痛なものがココにもいます。
    数年前、義理母のクリスマスプレゼントでモチーフつなぎのテーブルセンター(レース編み)を編んで苦労しました。
    量的にはほとんど糸始末無かったのにそれでも面倒くさかったです。笑

  2. のらねこ より:

    モチーフ、がんばってますね〜!
    私もダメ。
    糸始末どころか綴じ接ぎ・留め、全部いやっ!
    「後は繋ぐだけ」のパーツがそのまま放置中になってます。あうっ(悶絶)

    • paopao1017 より:

      のらねこさん
      そうそう、ながーい糸で、ずーっと編んでいたいですよね。でもでも、せっかくだから繋げましょうよ。見せてくださーい。


コメントを残す

