Knitting Cafe

Hydrangea/アジサイI went to a knit cafe yesterday after desperately making time for it. It is open at a culture center twice a month. Its formal name is “Knit cafe in English”. Yes, it is a class of knitting and English conversation. I joined the class as a trial. When I found the class, I had so little work to do. “Knitting and English! The class must be for me”; I thought. But now I am pretty busy. Self-managing is so difficult.

昨日は必死になって時間を作ってニットカフェに行ってきました。このカフェというのは、月に2回、とあるカルチャーセンターで開かれるもので、正式名称は「ニットカフェ in English」。そうなんです。編み物と英会話のお教室です。それを体験受講させてもらってきました。こういうクラスがあることを発見したとき、私はかなりヒマでした。「編み物と英語なんて私のためにあるクラスじゃないのー。」と勇んで体験受講を申し込んだものの、今は(というか、たぶん今だけ)とても忙しい。スケジュールの自己管理って本当に難しいです。

The class had one instructor and three formal participants except me. The instructor was young European man. He addressed each participant by turns and gave advices about knitting. In this situation, you should not expect to improve your English conversation skill. He also speaks in Japanese well, and participants talk each other in Japanese. I didn’t care about that. If I want to improve my English conversation skill, I must go to English conversation school. The main part of the class was knitting. I enjoyed the class.

それで、クラスですが、先生が 1 人と私以外の正式な生徒さんは 3 人でした。先生は若い男性のたぶんヨーロッパの人でした。先生がひとりひとりに順番に話かけて、編み物に関するアドバイスをくれる形でクラスが進行されました。この状況で英会話のスキルを上げるのはムリですね。先生も日本語を上手に話すし、私たち生徒同士も日本語でしゃべっちゃうし。この点は、想定の範囲内というか、仕方ないかなと思います。英会話を上達させたいならマンツーマンの英会話学校に行かなきゃ、ですものね(私はなんかもうこのまましゃべれないままでいきます)。このクラスのメインはやっぱり編み物です。そしてこのメインはとても楽しかったです。

I looked people knitting at the first time. I was interested in other people’s yarns and color combinations. And more, I was taught how to knit a rib-knitting called “English-rib” in Japanese. I had tried to knit “English-rib” several times, but I could not understand how to do. I gave up a pattern with “English-rib”. The instructor and a participant taught me. I was very happy. It is nice to have nice teachers.

他の人が編むのをじっと見る経験はこれまでになかったし、他の人の糸選びや色合わせもとても興味深く眺めてきました。そしてなにより、イギリスゴム編み(英語ではイギリスゴム編みって言わないよね?)の編み方を教えてもらっちゃいました。イギリスゴム編みにはこれまで何度か挑戦したことがあるのですが、どうしてもやり方が分からなくて、イギリスゴム編みしなきゃいけないパターンなんか編まないからいいもんねと思っていたのですが、先生と生徒さんの一人が教えてくださいました。もー、目からウロコです。編まない、というか、糸をかける段が必要だったんですね。それが分からなくて、イギリスゴム編みやろうとすると編み地がひきつるから嫌だと思ってました。持つべきものはよき先生だわ。

When I become to be good self manager, I will join a knitting class.

今回は残念ながら見合わせるけど、もうちょっと自分のスケジュールを自分でコントロールできるようになったら、編み物教室にはぜひぜひ行ってみたいです。楽しかった~。

コメントを残す

