Ehou-maki

Bloom/開花Today is “setsubun”, the traditional end of winter. I am writing this log eating beans after the bean-scattering. Recently, ehou-makis are sold in my region. I was astonished when my friend told about ehou-makis about a decade ago. The friend who is from Kansai tought me; an ehou-maki is a large “norimaki” (vinegared rice rolled in dried laver with various ingredients in the center). “Ehou” means a lucky direction. The direction changes every year. In the setsubun night, people must face the “ehou” and eat an “ehou-maki” in silence. If so, lucks will come. I was surprised and burst out laughing imaging people eating large “norimakis” in silence. The friend was annoyed with me laughing her traditional event. Ten years past and ehou-makis become popular nation wide. Our friendship still continues. It’s good.

今日は節分です(”End of winter” だったのね)。豆まき後に大豆を食べながら、これを書いています。最近では私の住んでいる地域でも恵方巻が売られるようになりましたが、10 年ほど前に友達から恵方巻のことをきいたときには仰天したものです。関西出身のその友だちは、恵方巻というのは大きな海苔巻であること、恵方は毎年変わるものであること、節分の夜にはこの恵方を向いて、黙って恵方巻を食べるものであること。そうすれば、よきことがあるということを教えてくれました。私は驚いて、黙って大きな海苔巻を食べる人々を想像して大笑いしました。友だちは、自分が普通に受け入れてきた行事のことを大笑いする私に、憤慨していましたっけ。あれから 10 年が過ぎ、恵方巻は全国区になりました。私たちの友情はまだ続いています。よきことです。

コメントを残す

