Lot Change

ZARA yarn in different lot/ロット違いのZARAWhen you start knitting something, especially clothes, you should first prepare as many yarn balls as required. This is the basic for knitters. Of couse I have known and followed it. I broke it just once. And I had a bitter experience.

何か編み始めるとき、特に着るものを編み始める時は、必要な量の毛糸をはじめに準備すること。これは、編み物をするヒトの基本です。もちろん、私も知っていて、これまでずっと守ってきました。でも、1 回だけこれを破ってしまい、痛い目にあいました(涙)。

I went to a yarn shop to look for some yarn for my husband cardigan, several weeks ago. I found a ZARA yarn and bought a single ball there. I wanted to confirm whether its color or fabric matches his taste, and to calculate how many balls I need. With the ball, I made a swatch and s part of the back body part. Then, I called the yarn shop for other required balls. At that point, there were not the same lot yarn. I bought the other lot balls in tears.

数週間前に、毛糸屋さんに夫のカーディガン用の糸をさがしに行きました。そこで、ZARA の糸なんかいいんじゃないのと思い、1 玉だけ買って帰りました。糸や編み地が彼の好みに合うか確かめて、必要な個数を確認したかったからです。その 1 玉でスワッチと後ろ身頃の一部を編みました。それから、おもむろに残りを注文しようと電話したところ、すでに同じロットの糸はなくなっていました。で、泣く泣く別のロットの糸を買うことにしました。

ZARA yarn in different lot/ロット違いのZARAIn photos, the color difference is not visible. In reality, the difference is quite remarkable. I have to ravel the back body part. I have thought I will never encounter a lot change timing. I was wrong. The basic is important.

写真では色の違いがあまり分かりませんが、実際にはけっこう目立ちます。編みかけの後ろ身頃は全部ほどかねばなりません。自分はロットの変わり目に遭遇することなんかないとたかをくくっていたところがあるのですが、間違っていました。基本は大事ですね。

コメントを残す

