Yarn Shops in Hawaii

Ruca Multy Color:17Again I am writing about my trip to Hawaii. Actually I doubted if I can enjoy Hawaii, because I am not interested in massages or shopping brand-named items. So, I planed to go local yarn shops. Before the trip ,I searched in Ravelry and checked that there are two yarn shops in Honolulu; “Yarn and Friends” and “Isle Knit”.

またしてもハワイ旅行について書きます。実は、マッサージやブランド物のお買いものに興味がない私は、自分がハワイ旅行を楽しめるかどうか疑問でした。それで、地元の毛糸屋さんに行くという企画を立てました。旅行前にラベリーで検索して、ホノルルには “Yarn and Friends” と “Isle Knit” の2軒の毛糸屋さんがあることを確認しました。

Ruca Multy Color:19

When arrived, I gathered my courages to call the stores. I wanted to know when they are open. At first I called “Yarn and Friends”, and knew the store is no longer open. A lady who answered my call spoke slowly and kindly. I barely heard “no longer” and “retired”. I tried to apologize for my rudeness. I wish she understood my English.

到着してすぐ、勇気をふりしぼってこれらのお店に電話をしてみました。お店が開いている曜日と場所を知りたかったので。最初に “Yarn and Friends” にかけて、このお店はもうやっていないことを知りました。電話に出てくれた女性は、ゆーっくりとやさしーく話してくれて、私は辛うじて「もうやっていない」ということと「リタイアした」ということを聞き取ったのでした。失礼な電話をしたこと(間違い電話かどうかも確かめられなかった)をお詫びしたつもりなのですが。。。私の英語伝わったかなぁ。

Handcrafted Knitting Needles/手作りの棒針

The second store “Isle Knit” answered by an answer phone. I didn’t give anyone a hard time, perhaps. The store is close Sunday and Monday and open at 10 am. I went to the store after visiting Iolani Palace. The store is on the 14th floor in a business building located ten minutes walk from the palace. The shop owner was very kind. She patiently heard my poor English and helped me.

2つめのお店 “Isle Knit” は留守電でした。だから、誰にも迷惑をかけずに済んだと思います、たぶん。このお店は日曜日と月曜日がお休みで、始業は10:00から。私は、イオラニ宮殿を観光した後に行ってきました。お店は、イオラニ宮殿から徒歩10分ぐらいのところにあるオフィスビルの14階にありました。お店のオーナー(たぶん)は、とても親切で、辛抱強く私のつたない英語をきいて、対応してくれました。

Flower Version/お花バージョンButterfly Version/チョウチョバージョン

There is no made-in-Hawaii yarn as I slightly expected. I bought her recommended yarns and hand made needles. The yarn is made from 100% sugarcane. The yarn name is “Ruca Multy”. The label says “RAW YARN MADE IN CHINA, HAND DYED IN CHILE”. But for me they are Hawaii souvenir! The neelde heads are colorful and attached tiny butterflies and flowers. I will give the butterfly version pair to my knitting friend.

うっすらと予感していたとおり、ハワイで作られた糸はなかったので、お店の人おすすめの糸と手作り(?)の棒針を買いました。糸は100%サトウキビ製。名前は “Ruca Multy”。ラベルには「中国製。染はチリ。」と書いてあるけど、私にとっては、ハワイのお土産です!棒針の頭は色つきで、小さなチョウチョと花がくっついています。チョウチョバージョンは、編み物友達へのお土産にするつもり。