Monkeypod

Diamond Head Beach/ダイヤモンドヘッドビーチI went to Hawaii last week. It was my first trip to Hawaii. There were many Japanese tourists as they say. That may be a disappointed point for experienced travelers. That fits for me who have scarcely gone abroad. I enjoyed the blue sky, beautiful sea and large trees.

先週ハワイに行ってきました。はじめてのハワイ旅行。うわさどおり日本人観光客がたくさんいました。それって旅慣れた人にはがっかりポイントなのかもしれませんが、ほとんど海外に行ったことがない私にはちょうどいい感じでした。あおーい空と、うつくしー海とおーきな木々。楽しい旅でした。

Hitachi Tree/日立の木I went to see the Hitachi Tree in Moanalua Gardens as a Hawaii beginner. I had been looking foward to the tree. Unfortunately I got car sick and had to leave there in just 5 or 10 minutes! I wanted to cry.

ハワイ初心者らしくあの日立の木を見にモアナルアガーデンにも行ってきました。すごく楽しみにしていたのですが、残念なことにひどく車に酔ってしまい、しかもたったの5分か10分で出発しなければなりませんでした(涙)。泣きたかった~。

A Monkeypod flower/モンキーポッドの花I have read an article that local people can not understand why Japanese admire Hitachi Tree only. Going the gardens, I can understand local people. There are other monkeypod trees in the gardens, and many many monkeypod trees all over the place. A monkeypod is one kind of roadside trees. They are all large and provide cool leafy shades.

地元の人はなんで日本人が日立の木ばっかりありがたがるのか理解できない、という記事を読んだことがあるのですが、日立の木がある公園に行ってみて地元の人が言ってることを理解できました。あの公園にも他のモンキーポッドがありますが、なんといっても、そこいらじゅうにモンキーポッドの木があるんです。街路樹の1つみたいで、どの木もみんな大きくて、涼しい木陰をつくっていました。

Monkeypod shade/モンキーポッドの木陰Large trees are beautiful, just because they are large. In Honolulu, I often stop walking or sightseeing and looked up them.

大きな木って、ただ大きいというだけで美しい。ホノルルでは、しょっちゅう立ち止まっては、大きな木を見上げてきました。

コメントを残す

