Grosgrain

Grosgrain Ribbon and bottuns/グログランリボンとボタンYesterday, I went to Yuzawaya Sinjuku to buy grosgrain ribbons and buttons yesterday. They are for the boleros which I am crochetting. I have not haunted Yuzawayas well until recently. Generally shop women at such large craft shops are not kind, I thought. But yesterday, they kept smiling and said “sorry to have kept you waiting”. I was amazed. They have changed. Since when?

昨日は新宿のユザワヤに、いま編んでいるボレロ用のグログランリボンとボタンを買いに行ってきました。私は最近まであまりユザワヤには通っていませんでした。だって、ああいう大きな手芸屋さんの店員さんってたいてい感じ悪いんですもの、、、と思っていたのですが、昨日の店員さんたちはにこにこして、「お待たせしました」とか言ってくれました。びっくりです。いったいいつごろからこんなことに?

By the way, grosgrain ribbon. I have not known a grosgrain ribbon since I read the bolero pattern. There was a grosgrain ribbon department at Yuzawaya. Again I was amazed. Mr. google told me; “grosgrain” is a fashion term from French “gros; large” and “grain; grain woody texture”. Certainly the ribbons I brought have large striped ridge. I got a new word. Though the word “grosgrain” may not be on the TOEIC test.

ところで、グログランリボン。私は、今回のボレロのパターンを見るまで、グログランリボンなんてものを知りませんでした。が、ユザワヤにはグログランリボンコーナーがあるではありませんか。ここでもびっくりです。グーグル先生によると、グログランというのは、ファッション業界の(?)用語で、フランス語の「gros:大きい」と「grain:木目」からきているそうです。確かに、私が買ったリボンにも大きな横方向の畝があります。TOEICにはでないだろうけど、新しい単語覚えました。

コメントを残す

