Flanders Poppy

It was cold rain this morning.
I’ve seen unfamiliar flowers at usual river bank since two or three days ago.
They are deep orange, fragile, and pretty.
I seeked their name by internet, and very surprised!
Their English name is Flanders poppy and they are also called "Gubijin-sou" in Japanese.
A "Gubijin-sou" is one kind of poppys, isn’t it?
I’ve thought that poppys are popular hearty flowers.
"Gubijin-sous" are somehow fragile beautiful flowers though I’ve not seen them.
Both these two impressions are breaking down.
今朝は冷たい雨でした。
2、3日前から、いつもの川沿いに見慣れない花が咲いていました。
深いオレンジ色の、はかなげで可愛らしい花です。
インターネットでこの花の名前を調べてみてビックリ!
英語では "Flanders poppy"(ヒナゲシ)ですが、"虞美人草" ともいうらしい。
"虞美人草" ってポピーの 1 種なの?
私はずーっと、ポピーはありふれた元気な花で、"虞美人草" は見たことがないけどどこかはかなげな美しい花だと思っていました。
思い込みがガラガラと崩れていく~。
 
 
 
コメントを残す

