Platanus

 Platanus trees / プラタナス(後ろは並木)

Last week, I went to Sinjuku-Gyoen to see Platanus. Platanus’s Japanese name is "suzukake no ki".

 I’ve known there are trees named "suzukake no ki". Japanese "suzu" means "bells", and "kake" means "hang". So "suzukake no ki" means "trees hanging bells". I’ve imaged fragile trees with very little leaves ,the leaves are hard, and they rustle like bells. But real Platanus trees differ my imagination.

Platanus’s leaves are bigger than my palm. In a line status their height are limitted. Even though, they are big. In nature they grow 30 metres high. In Sinjuku-Gyoen I saw a Platanus in nature status. It was very high, large, great and beautiful. Very magnificent.


先週、新宿御苑にプラタナスを見に行ってきました。プラタナスの和名は"鈴掛けの木"です。

"鈴掛けの木"という名前の木があることは知っていましたが、その語感から私は勝手に、擦れ合うとカサカサと音をたてる小さな葉っぱのきゃしゃな木を想像していました。(本来は「鈴のような実がなる」という意味みたいなので、想像以前に、意味を取り違えていたわけですが。。)でも、本物のプラタナスは想像と違っていました。葉は掌よりも大きく、並木になるように形が整えられていても大きな木でした。新宿御苑の一角にあった自然の形のプラタナスはまさに"巨木"。すてきでした。

Platanus bark/ プラタナスの樹皮(まだら模様)

 A platanus in nature / 自然の状態のプラタナス(巨大!)

 

 

コメントを残す

